Susan J. Kramer School Nurse Award

Established in 2010 by Laurel School parents Karen Horowitz, M.D. and Jeffrey Kahn, the award is designed to thank school nurses in northeast Ohio for their daily dedication to children with diabetes in elementary, middle,or high school settings.

The award is named after its first recipient, Susan J. Kramer, RN, BSN, the school nurse at Laurel School. This annual award recognizes the contributions of a school nurse who has shown compassion, initiative and leadership in the care and management of diabetes in an elementary, middle or high school setting.

Recipients of the Susan J. Kramer Excellence in School Nursing Award are selected through a formal nomination and review process, overseen by a special committee of the Camp Ho Mita Koda Steering Committee.

Written nominations may be submitted by parents of children with diabetes or administrators/teachers within a particular school or school district.

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Nominee must be a registered nurse in the State of Ohio with current licensure.
  2. Nominee must be currently practicing in a school setting as a nurse.
  3. Nominee must demonstrate excellence in nursing by making an outstanding contribution to the care and welfare of students with diabetes.

Selection Procedure:

  1. Upon receiving nomination form, a selection committee comprised of members of the Camp Ho Mita Koda Steering Committee will review nomination forms and statements of support.
  2. The selection committee will recommend a nominee by a specified date. Following approval of this nominee, the recipient and his/her school district will be notified.

The recipient will receive an engraved award with his/her name on it.

Please contact us with any questions.

Prior Award Winners

2010 Recipients
  • Susan J. Kramer, Laurel School

2011 Recipients


  • Kim LaScola, RN, from Hudson Middle School
  • Vicki Goodrich, RN, BSN, from Hawken Lower/Middle School
  • Judy MacFarland, RN, from Brady Middle School

2012 Recipients
  • Kimberly DiRocco, RN, from  Gesu School
  • Laura C. Scavinski, LPN from Muraski Elementary School in Strongsville


2014 Recipients
  • Elizabeth Reynolds, RN, from Grand Valley Elementary School